The Kerry Way (134 miles or 214km) is the most spectacular and longest of Irelands' waymarked walks. Passing by the Climbers Inn, the walk's official start is Killarney town and it comprises 9 stages, Glencar being the third trailhead along the way.

The Kerry Way passes through a number of towns, villages and communities along the Iveragh Peninsula - Killarney, Black Valley, Glencar, Glenbeigh, Cahersiveen, Waterville, Caherdaniel, Sneem and Kenmare. It is the most popular signposted loop trail in Ireland and one that brings the walker along a diverse landscape from valley to mountains, sea and coastal scapes.

Walk the Kerry Way from the Climbers Inn

Stay in the Climbers Inn while exploring Ireland's longest waymarked trail, The Kerry Way

A circular route, the Kerry Way generally follows a counter-clockwise route around Kerry's Iveragh Peninsula. Skirting the coastline with incredible views along the way of the famous Wild Atlantic Way. The trail consists of a variety of path types including paved roads, tracks on open mountainsides, woodlands trails, old coach roads, mass paths, sheep tracks and boreens (small country roads).

Starting in Killarney National Park, you will pass through ancient oak woodlands and open mountain trails before descending into the Black and Bridia Valleys and onto the Climbers Inn in Glencar. From here the path takes you out to the coast at Glenbeigh and onto the town of Cahersiveen, treating you to magnificent Atlantic views along the way, especially at Drung Hill. From Cahersiveen the trail heads inland again before reaching to coastal town of Waterville. From here, the route lcings to the south coast of the peninsula until reaching the charming town of Kenmare. A short walk from Kenmare brings you back into Killarney National Park and your original starting point.

Book Your Stay

Contact us today to book your stay

The Stages of the Kerry Way

The Kerry Way is divided into 9 stages:

Stage 1: Killarney to Black Valley

Stage 2: Black Valley to Glencar

Stage 3: Glencar to Glenbeigh

Stage 4: Glenbeigh to Cahersiveen

Stage 5: Cahersiveen to Waterville

Stage 6: Waterville to Caherdaniel

Stage 7: Caherdaniel to Sneem

Stage 8: Sneem to Kenmare

Stage 9: Kenmare to Killarney